Skip to main content
Menu
New for Pathfinder members: phone help, day or night. Call the Pathfinder AI assistant at (888) 409-PATH.See Pathfinder
Pathfinder builds your claim plan from the records you already have. $500 for the year, full refund for 30 days.See what you get
Questions about plans or prices? The Claim Raven AI assistant answers at (877) 806-3795, day or night.Call now

Verizon military and veteran discount

Verizon gives veterans, retirees, active duty, Guard, Reserve and Gold Star families a monthly credit on eligible unlimited plans: $10 for one phone, $25 for two or three lines, and $20 for four or more. The account owner or manager verifies with ID.me, and prepaid and promotional plans are excluded.

Veterans: Yes.1

Discount
Eligible unlimited accounts: $10 for one phone, $25 for two or three, $20 for four or more each month; other plan rules differ
Where
Online, In store, App
How to verify
ID.me; the applicant must be the account owner or manager
Checked on
Against Verizon's own page

Go to Verizon's military discount page

Who qualifies

Veterans, retirees, active duty, Guard, Reserve and Gold Star families qualify. Spouses cannot sign up on their own, but lines on the military member's account can benefit.

  • VeteransYes1
  • Active dutyYes1
  • National Guard and ReserveYes1
  • RetireesYes1
  • Spouse of active dutyLimited1Cannot register on their own; lines on the military member's account (up to four) can benefit.
  • Spouse of a veteranLimited1Cannot register on their own; lines on the military member's account (up to four) can benefit.
  • Surviving spouseLimited1Gold Star next of kin can qualify. A separate rule for all surviving spouses is not stated.
  • Gold Star familyYes1

Not stated by Verizon: veterans rated 100 percent disabled, dependents and caregivers.1

Proof and verification

Verizon checks military status through ID.me; the applicant must be the account owner or manager.

Accepted proof
ID.me accepts veteran documents such as DD214, NGB22, VHIC, VIC and a state veteran designation. Verizon explicitly names DD214 for Gold Star next of kin.DD214: your discharge papers from active duty. NGB22: your National Guard separation record. VHIC: the VA health ID card. VIC: the VA's Veteran ID Card.
How long it takes
The credit appears one or two billing cycles after verification.
At the register
Store enrollment is available, but this FAQ does not promise that a VA card alone completes it.
Without a smartphone
Use the website on a computer or ask a Verizon retail store to handle enrollment.
Recently separated
Choose veteran status and check that the eligible person is the account owner or manager.
Privacy
Submit proof through the registration flow. Verizon says it will not ask for sensitive information in an unsolicited contact.
Verifying again
No annual military-discount renewal is required.

See every way to prove you are a veteran

Based on sources 1 and 2.

Where it works

Plan credits are the same online and in stores; accessories get 10 percent in stores and 25 percent through My Verizon.

  • OnlinePlan-specificAvailable1Validate through ID.me and choose new or existing customer.
  • In storePlan-specific; 10 percent on eligible accessories in storeAvailable1The FAQ allows military enrollment at Verizon retail stores.
  • App25 percent on eligible accessories through My VerizonAvailable1Ordered through My Verizon (app or website); differs from the mobile plan credit.

What is excluded and the limits

  • Prepaid and promotional plans are excluded from this program.1
  • Apple products are excluded from the accessory discount.1
Code rules
One eligible account discount. The FAQ says the benefit applies to up to four mobile lines; it is not a separate reduction on every unlimited line.

The cheapest way to buy Verizon as a veteran

The military discount is not always the lowest price. Compare it with these before you buy.

The listed unlimited-account credit totals $120 over twelve months for one phone, $300 for two or three, or $240 for four or more. Those totals exclude service prices and taxes. Compare the complete account bill after any Auto Pay or home bundle savings; adding a line can change both the bill and the military credit.

Auto Pay, paper-free billing and Mobile + Home benefits may combine. Employer, student and other service-profession discounts cannot be added to the military discount.

An exchange phone seller is not evidence that this Verizon account credit transfers to another plan.

No dated seasonal increase is established in this FAQ.

If the discount does not work

Verification passed but the first bill has no credit

Allow one or two billing cycles and retain the enrollment confirmation.1

An eligible veteran cannot register the account

The qualifying person must be the account owner or manager. Check those account roles before repeating verification.1

Two percentage discounts did not combine

Employer, student and other service-profession discounts cannot stack with the military discount. Compare each available account total.1

Changes to this discount

First checked September 27, 2026

Questions about the Verizon military discount

Do former Guard and Reserve members qualify?

Yes. The FAQ names current and former Guard and Reserve alongside veterans and retirees.1

Is the unlimited-plan credit per line?

The listed one-, two-to-three- and four-plus-phone amounts are per account. Simplicity instead has a 10 percent per-eligible-line rule, so read the row for your plan.1

Do I have to renew every year?

No annual renewal is required for the military discount. A plan change can still affect which benefit applies.1

Sources

  1. Verizon military mobile plan FAQ. Retrieved .
  2. ID.me military proof requirements. Retrieved .

Checked on . Reviewed by Landon.

How we check military discounts · Report a change

Did this discount change? Tell us and we will check it.

Claim Raven is not affiliated with or endorsed by VA, the Department of Defense, any military branch, or the brands on this page. Discounts change often; the brand's own terms apply.