New for Pathfinder members: phone help, day or night. Call the Pathfinder AI assistant at (888) 409-PATH.See Pathfinder →
Pathfinder builds your claim plan from the records you already have. $500 for the year, full refund for 30 days.See what you get →
Questions about plans or prices? The Claim Raven AI assistant answers at (877) 806-3795, day or night.Call now →
Costco military and veteran discount
Costco's join page lists a Military path for new members, who get a Digital Costco Shop Card ($40 with Executive, $20 with Gold Star) after verifying through SheerID and enrolling in auto renewal online. Costco names military members only and does not say whether veterans qualify.
Veterans:Not stated by Costco.
Costco names a Military path but does not say whether veterans qualify.
Discount
Digital Costco Shop Card: $40 with a new Executive membership or $20 with a new Gold Star membership
Where
Online
How to verify
SheerID, through the Military link on Costco's join page
Costco lists a Military path but does not say whether veterans, retirees, the Guard, Reserve or spouses qualify. The offer is only for new members, or people who have not been members in the last 18 months.
Active dutyYesCostco lists a Military path under its new-member promotions.
Not stated by Costco: veterans, National Guard and Reserve, retirees, veterans rated 100 percent disabled, spouse of active duty, spouse of a veteran, surviving spouse, Gold Star family, dependents and caregivers.
Proof and verification
Costco checks military status through SheerID, through the Military link on Costco's join page.
Accepted proof
Costco does not list documents. The SheerID form asks for military status, branch of service, name, date of birth and email.
How long it takes
Not stated by Costco. The Digital Costco Shop Card arrives by email within two weeks after sign-up and auto renewal enrollment.
At the register
Costco labels the promotion online only.
Without a smartphone
Join on costco.com from a computer.
Recently separated
Costco does not address recently separated members.
Privacy
SheerID collects the verification details for Costco. Never send service documents to Claim Raven.
Verifying again
Not stated. The promotion covers only the first year of a new membership.
Costco labels the promotion online only, so join on costco.com rather than at a warehouse.
Online$40 or $20 Digital Costco Shop CardAvailableJoin on costco.com through the Military link and enroll in auto renewal.
In storeNot availableCostco labels the new-member promotion online only.
What is excluded and the limits
Upgrades and renewals of an existing membership.
Anyone who was a Costco member in any capacity in the last 18 months.
No Shop Card if you skip auto renewal at sign-up.
Digital Costco Shop Cards are not accepted at the US or Canada Food Court.
Code rules
New members only, or people who have not been a Costco member in any capacity in the last 18 months. You must set up auto renewal on a Visa card or Mastercard debit card at sign-up. Not valid for an upgrade or renewal.
The cheapest way to buy Costco as a veteran
The military discount is not always the lowest price. Compare it with these before you buy.
This is a Shop Card, not a lower fee. A Gold Star membership costs $65 a year and Executive adds a $65 upgrade fee, so the $20 or $40 card offsets part of the first year. The same amounts appear in Costco's general new-member promotion.
Costco says the promotion may not be combined with any other promotions.
Exchange availability has not been checked.
No dated military promotion was confirmed in the checked sources.
If the discount does not work
No Shop Card arrived
Costco emails it to the Primary Member's address within two weeks after sign-up and auto renewal enrollment. Check that email address.
Skipped auto renewal at sign-up
Costco says incentives are not owed if you do not enroll in auto renewal at sign-up.
Already a member or a recent member
The promotion is only for new members or people who have not been members in the last 18 months. It does not apply to renewals or upgrades.
Tried to join at a warehouse
Costco labels the promotion online only. Join on costco.com.
A VA benefit that may be worth more
In-store commissary, exchange and MWR access
Qualifying veterans with a service-connected rating, including 0 percent, can use commissary and exchange privileges. Other eligible groups include retirees, former POWs, Purple Heart and Medal of Honor recipients and recognized primary family caregivers. Bring your VHIC or the required VA eligibility evidence and photo ID for checkout.
Since November 1, 2024, eligible people without a VA health ID card (VHIC) can enroll for base access with a REAL ID at the visitor center, which checks eligibility electronically. The gate and the checkout check eligibility separately, so confirm local entry rules before you go.
If your privilege comes only from the 2020 expansion, commissaries add 1.43 percent for credit or signature debit and 0.36 percent for PIN debit. Cash, checks, SNAP EBT and eWIC have no fee.
Veterans with an honorable discharge, or a general discharge under honorable conditions, can shop the online military exchanges: ShopMyExchange.com, MyNavyExchange.com, MyMCX.com and ShopCGX.com.
Uniforms, alcohol and tobacco are excluded. Online shopping does not give family members shopping rights or base access.
Create an exchange account. If your records need review, follow the VetVerify link; recent separations can take time to appear.
Shopping is tax-free. Shipping costs vary by site, and we could not confirm a free-shipping minimum.
SheerID proof requirements depend on the retailer. Nike asks for government proof with name, branch and service status, while The North Face lists documents such as DD-214, VA ID and a license with a veteran mark. Use the retailer's verification link and instructions.
Nike and Foot Locker describe document checks of up to 20 minutes. Do not assume that timing applies to every retailer.