New for Pathfinder members: phone help, day or night. Call the Pathfinder AI assistant at (888) 409-PATH.See Pathfinder →
Pathfinder builds your claim plan from the records you already have. $500 for the year, full refund for 30 days.See what you get →
Questions about plans or prices? The Claim Raven AI assistant answers at (877) 806-3795, day or night.Call now →
Does Walmart have a military discount?
Walmart's own website does not offer or describe a military discount, so veterans and active duty pay the same prices as other shoppers. Veterans who receive the VA Veterans and Survivors Pension can get Walmart+ for $49 a year instead of $98, and Walmart's Sam's Club publishes a military membership deal.
Ways veterans can save on department stores instead
Walmart+ Assist: Veterans who receive the VA Veterans and Survivors Pension Benefit can join Walmart+ for $49 a year or $6.47 a month.
Sam's Club: Walmart's warehouse club publishes a military membership deal for veterans, retirees, active duty and their spouses.
Who qualifies
Walmart publishes no military discount, so it names no military group. Its Walmart+ Assist membership does list the VA Veterans and Survivors Pension Benefit.
Not stated by Walmart: veterans, active duty, National Guard and Reserve, retirees, veterans rated 100 percent disabled, spouse of active duty, spouse of a veteran, surviving spouse, Gold Star family, dependents and caregivers.
Proof and verification
No published military verification
Accepted proof
Walmart publishes no military proof requirement.
How long it takes
No military review is described.
At the register
Walmart's pages do not describe a military card at checkout.
Without a smartphone
Not applicable.
Recently separated
Not applicable.
Privacy
Walmart+ Assist uses SheerID to confirm a qualifying program, and SheerID may ask for documents.
Verifying again
Walmart checks Walmart+ Assist eligibility every year.
OnlineNo published military rateNot stated by Walmart
In storeNo published military rateNot stated by WalmartWalmart's pages do not describe a register discount.
What is excluded and the limits
Code rules
Walmart's pages offer no military code.
The cheapest way to buy Walmart as a veteran
The military discount is not always the lowest price. Compare it with these before you buy.
With no published military discount, compare Walmart's everyday price with other stores, and check whether a Walmart+ membership pays for itself. Veterans who receive the VA Veterans and Survivors Pension can join Walmart+ for $49 a year instead of the regular $98.
Not applicable, because Walmart publishes no military discount.
Exchange availability has not been checked.
Walmart publishes no military holiday offer.
How Walmart compares
Military discounts at similar brands, from our checked data.
Walmart's own pages publish no military discount, so a code sold as military is not a Walmart offer. Check Walmart's site before sharing any personal information.
Walmart+ Assist verification fails
SheerID checks your qualifying program, such as the Veterans and Survivors Pension Benefit, and may ask for documents.
The Assist price ended after a year
Walmart checks Assist eligibility every year to renew it. Verify again through SheerID.
A VA benefit that may be worth more
In-store commissary, exchange and MWR access
Qualifying veterans with a service-connected rating, including 0 percent, can use commissary and exchange privileges. Other eligible groups include retirees, former POWs, Purple Heart and Medal of Honor recipients and recognized primary family caregivers. Bring your VHIC or the required VA eligibility evidence and photo ID for checkout.
Since November 1, 2024, eligible people without a VA health ID card (VHIC) can enroll for base access with a REAL ID at the visitor center, which checks eligibility electronically. The gate and the checkout check eligibility separately, so confirm local entry rules before you go.
If your privilege comes only from the 2020 expansion, commissaries add 1.43 percent for credit or signature debit and 0.36 percent for PIN debit. Cash, checks, SNAP EBT and eWIC have no fee.
Veterans with an honorable discharge, or a general discharge under honorable conditions, can shop the online military exchanges: ShopMyExchange.com, MyNavyExchange.com, MyMCX.com and ShopCGX.com.
Uniforms, alcohol and tobacco are excluded. Online shopping does not give family members shopping rights or base access.
Create an exchange account. If your records need review, follow the VetVerify link; recent separations can take time to appear.
Shopping is tax-free. Shipping costs vary by site, and we could not confirm a free-shipping minimum.
Walmart's own website does not offer or describe one, as of October 1, 2026. That does not prove no store ever gives one, but there is no published program.
Can veterans get Walmart+ for less?
Yes, if you receive the VA Veterans and Survivors Pension Benefit. Walmart+ Assist costs $49 a year or $6.47 a month after SheerID verification.
Does a VA disability rating qualify for Walmart+ Assist?
Walmart lists the Veterans and Survivors Pension Benefit, which is a different VA program from disability compensation. A disability rating alone is not on Walmart's list.