Of the 58 brands I checked against their own pages, 36 include veterans in their military discount with no extra condition. Fourteen more include some veterans but not others. Eight don't include veterans at all: six have no military discount, and two have one for active duty only.
So the short answer is yes, usually. The longer answer is in the fine print, and it's where most veterans get turned down: which veterans count, which spouses count, whether the discount works in a store, and how much you can save before a cap stops it.
I built Claim Raven's military discount guide by reading each brand's own terms, help pages and FAQs. This article pulls the patterns out of those 58 records. Every number below comes from that sample, which I describe at the end.
"Veteran" means different things at different brands
Most discount lists tag an offer "military" and leave you to guess whether that includes you. The brands themselves use at least four different rules:
- All veterans. 36 of the 58 brands name veterans without a time limit or extra condition. Lowe's excludes only dishonorable discharges.
- Recently separated veterans only. This is a car-buying rule. Five of the seven car makers I checked limit veterans to a window after separation: 24 months at Ford, Honda, Nissan and Subaru, and 12 months at Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler. GM and Hyundai set no window. No brand outside cars had one.
- Retirees or named groups only. Disney World's military tickets, Disneyland's, Disney Cruise Line's military rates and Universal Orlando's Freedom Pass are for active duty, retirees and certain other groups. Having served is not enough by itself. Universal adds veterans rated 100 percent disabled.
- Active duty only. Delta and the San Diego Zoo have real military programs, but the zoo says outright that veterans and retirees get no discount.
- No program. Best Buy, REI, Garmin, WeatherTech, U-Haul and Vuori say they don't offer one.
Two brands are honest about being unclear. AutoZone names active and retired members but asks for veteran documents as proof, so a veteran who separated without retiring can't tell from its page whether they qualify. American Airlines gives free bags and early boarding to active duty, but points veterans only to a vacation-savings subscription.
The veterans-only view of the guide, discounts that include veterans, filters out the rest.
Passing ID.me doesn't mean you qualify
ID.me and SheerID check that you served. They don't decide who the brand includes. A verifier can confirm you're a veteran while the brand's own rule still leaves you out, as with a car maker's separation window or the Disney and Universal ticket rules.
When a discount doesn't appear after you verify, check the brand's eligibility list before you assume the verification failed.
Spouses: active-duty families usually come first
This is the question I saw asked most often and answered least. Across the 52 brands with a military program:
| Spouse of active duty | Spouse of a veteran | |
|---|---|---|
| Named as eligible | 18 | 8 |
| Eligible with a condition | 15 | 16 |
| Excluded | 1 | 3 |
| Not stated by the brand | 18 | 25 |
Fourteen brands treat the spouse of an active-duty member better than the spouse of a veteran. None did the reverse. AT&T and Lululemon say outright that spouses of veterans don't qualify, and Jeep's program can't be shared with any spouse. The eight brands that name veterans' spouses are Fanatics, The Home Depot, Hyundai, Lowe's, New Balance, Paramount+, Sam's Club and Under Armour. Some, including The Home Depot and Lowe's, want the spouse on a separate, separately verified account.
Surviving spouses are mostly left out of the terms. 42 of the 58 brands don't mention them. Four include them (Ford, Nissan, Royal Caribbean and Tractor Supply), five include them under conditions, and GM says they don't qualify.
Store or online: check before you drive
Of the 52 brands with a program, 24 give the discount both in stores and online. 22 are online only, including Apple, Samsung, New Balance and HOKA. Six are in person only, including AutoZone, the Disney and Universal ticket offices, and the Honda and Nissan dealer programs.
Bringing a card to the register is less reliable than it sounds. Only 18 of the 58 brands say a military or veteran ID works at checkout or check-in, and some of those still want you enrolled online first. Lowe's, for example, asks for your enrolled account's phone number and photo ID. If you need to replace or get a veteran ID, the proof guide covers each card.
Caps decide how much the discount is worth
Eighteen brands publish a limit. Four cap the savings themselves:
- The Home Depot stops at $400 a year. At 10 percent, that's reached after $4,000 of eligible purchases.
- Nike applies its 10 percent to the first $500 of an order.
- Foot Locker caps each verification at $100 saved.
- Delta Vacations caps its active-duty package savings at $200 per booking.
The other fourteen limit how often or how much you buy: GM, Ford, Nissan and Subaru count vehicles per year, Dell allows two products per transaction twice a year, HOKA allows six uses a year, and YETI caps discounted purchases at $10,000 a year. Several more limit how often you can get a code. Nike issues a new single-use code every seven days, and New Balance every 30.
For a large purchase, the cap matters more than the percentage. On $10,000 of eligible kitchen materials, a 10 percent discount capped at $400 saves $400. A 5 percent store promotion with no cap would save $500, so compare before you check out.
Some discounts only run a few weeks a year
Target and Academy Sports run seasonal military offers. Neither was running when I checked on October 1, 2026, and neither had announced its next window. Their pages in the guide note what each brand has said about past offers, which helps you plan around Veterans Day.
What the sample covers
I checked 58 brands against their own websites, help pages and terms between September 27 and October 1, 2026. I picked them from the military discount searches with the most volume, not at random, so they lean toward large national brands. When a brand's page said nothing about a group, I counted it as "not stated", never as yes or no. Brands whose pages didn't answer whether veterans qualify were left out entirely. That includes Walmart, Amazon and Costco, whose own pages don't say either way. The full method is on how we check.
Discount terms change without notice. Every brand page in the guide shows the date it was checked and links to the brand's own terms, so confirm there before you buy.
The benefit worth more than any of these
A store discount saves you a few dollars at checkout. If you have conditions from service and no VA rating, a rating of any level, even 0 percent, also opens the commissary and the exchange. Here's what that's worth next to a 10 percent discount.
Check what your claim is missing before you file. Claim Raven's free Claim Readiness Review shows you in a few minutes.
- Related article: Your VA Rating Can Be Worth More Than Any Military Discount
- Relevant tool: VA disability calculator, see how VA combines your ratings
- More guides: Military and veteran discounts
- Disclaimer: Claim Raven is data analysis, not legal, medical, or VA-accredited advice.
-Landon Founder, Claim Raven | U.S. Army Veteran

ID.me or SheerID Won't Verify You as a Veteran? Start With Which One Your Store Uses
Your VA Rating Can Be Worth More Than Any Military Discount
VA Claims Insider Review: The Six-Times Fee, the Fine Print, and the Texas AG Judgment